Cobb County

Cobb County is one of Georgia’s most sought after counties to live in and is part of the five-county Atlanta metropolitan area. The largest city is Marietta, which is located in the center of the county and is also its county seat. Named for Thomas Willis Cobb, a 19th century United States representative and senator from Georgia, Cobb County boasts sprawling suburban areas with easy access to downtown Atlanta.

Cobb was created December 3, 1832, by the Georgia General Assembly from the huge Cherokee “county” territory. The population was 688,078, as of the 2010 census. The county has four universities, and envied public school system, and can be broken down into roughly twelve close knit communities based on geographical areas. Such areas include East Cobb, Due West and Noonday. Cobb has been ranked as the most educated county in Georgia and is ranked #12 in that category in the United States by the U.S. Census Bureau. It has also been ranked in the top 100  most wealthy counties in the US.

Cobb County is home to Dobbins Air Force Base and the Lockheed plant which in part helped spur the change of Cobb County form a rural area to suburban area with the huge population influx centered around the employment opportunities from the 1960’s and on. All types of businesses now flourish in Cobb County, with headquarters for The Home Depot, The Weather Channel, and InTown Suites also located within the county. Cobb County has become one of Georgia’s most diverse and fruitful job markets to live in.

With beautiful golf subdivisions like Brookstone and Marietta Golf Club, numerous parks and recreation areas like Lake Allatoona and Kennesaw Mountain, and one of the best public school systems in Georgia, Cobb County is certainly a great place to call home, raise a family, and enjoy all the advantages of southern living.